n this article, we will discuss Saakhi # 5 of the Sikhaa di Bhagat Maala - Sikher (Seeker) series.

The Story of Bhai Prithi Mal and Bhai Rama Ddiddi

ਪਿਰਥੀ ਮਲੁ ਸਹਗਲੁ ਭਲਾ ਰਾਮਾ ਡਿਡੀ ਭਗਤਿ ਅਭਿਆਸੀ ॥

Pirthi Malu of the Sehgal clan and Rama from the Ddiddi clan were meditation practitioners.

Bhai Prithi Mal Sehgal and Bhai Rama Ddiddi were two Sikhs of Guru Nanak Dev Ji. The day they had the blessed opportunity to meet Guru Nanak Dev Ji and receive their divine vision, they humbly made a plea to Guru Sahib Ji.

They asked, "O Sache Paatshah (True King), show us an easy path through which we can attain liberation and merge with Vaheguru (God)."

Guru Sahib Ji answered, "There exist three types of penances. The first is Tamsik, which involves enduring hunger and exposure while sitting in water. Tamsik penance inflicts physical suffering upon the body to prevent fatigue or drowsiness during meditation. Those who perform Tamsik penance with Sehkam intention, i.e performing an act with a desire or selfish intention to achieve something, shall attain Ridhis and Sidhis (abundance of wealth and supernatural powers). For those with Nishkam (desire-free or selfless) intentions, this penance purifies their mind and heart."

Making Positive Efforts - The Rajsik Penance 

Guru Sahib Ji explained further, "Bhai Pritha Ji, undertaking this penance is challenging. Many who follow this path and acquire the treasures of spiritual powers become entangled in lust and anger. They use their powers to daunt others and forget God. Therefore, it's advisable not to pursue this type of penance. Instead, it would be best to engage in Rajsik and Satvik penance along with meditation. This way, you shall achieve salvation."

Bhai Pritha and Bhai Raama Ddiddi asked, "Could you kindly explain how we should practice these penances and meditation, Guru Ji?"

Guru Sahib Ji gave them some key points: 

  1. Your gaze should not fixate on the beauty of others, and your ears should abstain from indulging in gossip or praise about others. 
  2. Your hands must refrain from stealing or engaging in adultery. 
  3. Your feet should avoid negative company and wrongdoings. 
  4. Your eyes ought to focus on the noble saints and Guru's devotees. 
  5. Utilize your eyes to read and comprehend God's scriptures, immersing yourself in His words. Let your ears only resonate with the praises of God and Guru. 
  6. Your tongue should reject falsehood and instead articulate sweetness while praising God and Guru. 
  7. Your hands must serve the saints and participate in charitable acts. 
  8. Your legs should lead you to the Gurdwara (the House of God) and the congregation of saints. 

This form of penance is known as Rajsik, where one takes charge of their senses, channeling them towards positivity.

Focussing the Mind - The Satvik Penance

Guru Sahib Ji further explained the Satvik Penance, “When one reads Gurbani (Guru’s words) and recites Naam (The Name of Vaheguru), the mind attains tranquility and focus. In moments when the mind wanders during meditation, redirect it from negative or intrusive thoughts and reestablish its connection with Naam. Instead of succumbing to fatigue or questioning the lack of focus, persistently guide the mind back to its center during meditation. Do not lose hope."

The Horse Analogy 

Guru Nanak Dev Ji explained, "When a horse falls ill, its caretaker administers medication, endeavoring to feed the horse. Initially, the horse may resist and spit out the medicine. However, if the caretaker places the medicine in the horse's mouth and holds it there until the medication is swallowed, the horse eventually complies. Similarly, we must manage the mind. Do not surrender or allow the mind to govern you. Consistently guide the mind away from negativity, redirecting it towards meditation and focus. Immerse the mind in the words of God (Gurbani). Once the mind becomes attuned to Naam, the suffering of life and death comes to an end."

The Fruit of the Guru’s Service

Following Guru Sahib Ji’s teachings, Bhai Prithi Mal and Bhai Rama Ddiddi diligently practiced their counsel. They devoted themselves to congregating with the saints, serving the congregation, and concurrently meditating on and embodying the Guru's words (Gurbani). As a result, not only were they liberated, but their families too found liberation.

-End of Sakhi 5, Bhai Prithi Mal and Bhai Rama Ddiddi, Sikhs of Guru Nanak Dev Ji- 

As narrated in the Saakhi, the account provided here pertains to the Riddhi Siddhis (extraordinary abilities) that Guru Nanak Dev Ji cautioned Bhai Prithi Mal and Bhai Rama Ddiddi about. It is crucial to emphasize that the primary objective of a Sikh is not the pursuit of supernatural powers but the realization of oneness with Vaheguru.

Eight major spiritual powers

  1. Anima: The power to become very small and minute.
  2. Mahima: Power to expand your body and become huge.
  3. Lagima: Decrease the density of your body and become light as a feather.
  4. Garima: The power to increase the body's density and become heavier.
  5. Prapthi: The power to welcome success, achieve goals and become fulfilled. 
  6. Prakamya: The power to read the mind of other people.
  7. Isithavam: The power of persuasion, which is unknowingly utilised by some of the world's best salesmen.
  8. Vasithavam: The ability to control the mind and body of another person.

Ten minor spiritual powers

  1. Anooram: The power to transcend hunger and thirst. The Yogis do this while meditating for long periods in jungles and caves.
  2. Door Sharvan: To listen to far things.
  3. Door Darshan: To see far things.
  4. Manoveg: The ability to go anywhere in an instant. 
  5. Kaam Roop: The ability to change the form to another person, animal or plant
  6. Parkayi Parvesh: The ability to enter another person’s body. This is usually done to continue life, i.e., the person may discard his old body and enter the new one.
  7. Savichit Mrityu: The ability to die at will and die the way one wants to. 
  8. Surkareera: The power to meet the many demi-gods and to join them in enjoyment and merry-making.
  9. Sankalap Sidhi: The power to get desires fulfilled.
  10. Apratihat Gat: The ability to go anywhere without hindrance or obstruction.
You can help spread the message of Sikhi to people around you by using the leaflet created by the Basics of Sikhi team.
You can also check out our other leaflets on the Downloads page.

Join Our Newsletter and Get the Latest
Posts to Your Inbox

No spam ever. Read our Privacy Policy
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.